quotesie quote quote; photesie phote phote

waterlilliesbwmoonlightweb

Or  something.

Anyway, here are some waterlilies I was ogling – and photographing- on my extended break from The Internet. Maybe somebody out there will like it. I just have a love affair with light and dark and the interplay between the two. I love how variations in lighting can drastically alter the appearance of an otherwise unchanging object or scene. It’s like magic.

Darkness gives context to light. In all ways. It’s probably a predictable thing for me to say,  but it’s true.

Which leads me to my second offering re: the ‘3 days, 3 quotes’ challenge:

Even a happy life cannot be without a measure of darkness, and the word happy would lose its meaning if it were not balanced by sadness. It is far better take things as they come along with patience and equanimity.” Carl Jung

Anyway,  I was supposed to tag some people to participate in this quote thing! I completely forgot that part last time. So what I’m going to do is invite anyone who happens to read/see this to participate if they wish. No pressure.  I think you’re supposed to do it in 3 days- one after the other. I haven’t, and I’d apologise for that (and for merging it with my drawings and photos)  but,  I’m pretty sure nobody is gnashing their teeth in extreme angst over it 😉

11 thoughts on “quotesie quote quote; photesie phote phote

  1. Great choice of quote – so so true. And a fabulous photato! (I still love that word!) I’m a great appreciator of magic here, too; when you throw water into the mix also, the allure goes to another level! Looks a great ogling spot. Reflective in more ways than one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dang, i must make replies on the sidebar thingy that comes up rather than on my actual post. I always seem to accidentally post my replies as comments rather than replies, then the person can’t see that i actually replied to them at all. Anyway, my reply isn’t fascinating, but i did reply! Just…under your reply somewhere…sorry! Hang on- i forgot i could edit. Here was my reply, for what it’s worth!:

      Yeah, Jung is definitely a good source of quotable..er..quotes! This idea has always resonated with me. It’s also the reason while i’ll never be able to really get into the new agey idea of denying or skirting around anything dark in an effort to appear constantly blissful. It’s just not natural or realistic. Neither darkness or light exist without the other. We need both. Experiencing one helps us to more authentically experience the other.

      Anyhoo…thankyou for your kind wordsies! That was indeed a great ogling spot. There was certainly magic there! I took a bazillion photatoes ( photatos? I still can’t decide..) , but only a handful of them turned out ok.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ah, awesome! Bloody WordPress, eh.

        Absolutely with you on light and dark. It seems most naive to think we can just have one.

        Ah, that sounds great! There are few better ways to wile away the day than out in nature/at the waterside happy-snapping!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Not so much wordpress as my ditziness, methinx 😉 But yes. I’m happy to blame the site 🙂
        Yeah, you gotta have balance , eh.
        Nature really keeps me sane. (Sane-ish..) I’ve moved to a very picturesque location in the mountains, so there’ll definitly be more snapping!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great photato! I really like how you’ve taken something usually benign and made it look kind of sinister (this may be something to do with the music I’m listening to though). I look after waterlilies for my job, so next time I go in I’ll be looking at them with wary eyes, knowing they hold more sinister secrets than I thought. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, fanx 🙂
      Ooh, i like this idea of waterlilies being a bit sinister. It wasn’t my intention to make them appear that way, but if they kinda do, i’m into it. Gives me a writey idea ( which is good, as those have been sparse!)…..
      Waterlilies are so lovely. They’d be nice to work with, hopefully. Although…who knows now? If they’re a bit shady you’ll have to make sure you’re on their good side!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thankyou 🙂 It’s a pity that so much quality is lost when i change the file type of photos so that i can put them on the blog. I’m sure there are other more ‘photo friendly’ themes i could use….but then again, i post photography so infrequently, so i haven’t bothered.
      Anyhoo, cheers for dropping by! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

